Celebrate A Simple Life

it is no bad thing

The post I promised… February 27, 2008

Filed under: Christian thoughts,life,random — Ellie @ 1:31 pm

I have been at work very hard lately to get what I want to say out into words.  It is not easy; I often find that it is so difficult to share the work Christ is doing in my life…

Yes, Christ! He is nearer to me than I would have imagined was possible. I have grown so much closer to Him since Mrs. Amber passed… every day, He reveals so much of Himself, He shows me how I have been so full of self, that I am amazed I even thought I knew Him before. Through His Word, through the words of people around me – like Pastor John & Mr. Anthony & Mr. Lanny – and through the writings of His saints who have gone before – Samuel Rutherford, Amy Carmichael, John Owen… Amber Mathenia. Christ is revealing Himself more & more to me, and I find that HE is lovely.

I find how very ugly I am. I am so full of pride: I do not even want to speak of the work of Christ in my life, because I am afraid of saying the “Right Things” for the wrong reason and puffing myself up. It is Christ– I hope you all know it is not me. He is everything, I, nothing outside of Him. The power of Christ in me – the power of Christ in me!

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and

are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Take My yoke upon you, and learn of Me;

for I am meek and lowly in heart:

and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

For My yoke is easy & My burden is light.”

                                                 Matthew 11: 28-30

I would encourage everyone who hasn’t already to read this.

~ellie

 

2 Responses to “The post I promised…”

  1. emmawoodhouse Says:

    Sweet post, Ellen! Love Ya!
    Emma

  2. flinding Says:

    great post, ellie.
    it si great to read about the work of the Lord in your life.
    keep going hard on your blog.
    Jake


Leave a Reply

